The 200k Project: An Unrealistic Goal

There was another blog going for a little while called the 200k project in which a 2+2er wanted to turn 1k into 200k in 60 days. After 7 days he went busto and gave up. It seems stupid to set unrealistic goals and risk ruin to reach them. He was planning to move up in levels when he had 7-8 buyins for that level (good BR managment suggests 20 buyins). I have seen numerous projects like this and they all work out the same way… the poster always runs hot then hits a cold streak and goes busto.

So you might be asking yourself if I am being hypocritical. The answer is no. Why? Because I always play within my BR and set attainable goals. Even though I have gone from $12 to $300 in about two months, I am not moving my goal date forward. I will move down if I hit a downswing. I understand that I am probably running hot right now and my results are not sustainable.

It shame to see this keep happening. Had the OP maybe started at 50NL instead of 100NL and moved his goal date out to say 90 or 120 days the project could have been very interesting to watch as it progressed.

0 Responses to “The 200k Project: An Unrealistic Goal”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment